All the Fun of the Fair – June Dandy Lion

I’m so pleased to have finally done my first event! The Dandy Lion Market was decked out beautifully with such a varied and interesting array of sellers. I met some lovely people and had some great responses to my display and jewellery.

It was so great to build my display around the things that inspire me most. I draped jewellery over Nirvana, Beavis and Butthead, Absolutely Fabulous, and Smashing Pumpkins VHS and CD cases as I am really passionate about 90s music, comedy and fashion. I incorporated my treated denim as part of my display to create a really colourful yet grungy look and the shorts and jewellery complemented each other so well.

Beside me I had Carolina of The 3R Crafts, who I have mentioned in a previous post. She is so lovely and is very passionate about her message of simple living: reducing, reusing and recycling! She hand makes absolutely everything from recycled materials, including cork, ribbon, buttons, bottles, paper; she even hand makes her gift bags!Carolina

To my other side were David and Emma from D’Burgin Fox Vintage. Their passion for clothing and style is evident through their great collection of classic vintage pieces which they have lovingly collected over the years, as well as retro band t-shirts.

D'Burgin Fox

Lovely Ava of Ava Design had a beautiful display of luxurious pearl jewellery, draped over driftwood and pretty white origami birds. All her pearls are sourced directly from Japanese pearl farms and are of the highest quality.

avadesign

Laila of Racoon Circus had a beautiful little treasure trove of accessories made with vintage lace and colourful feathers, perfect for the festival season.

RacoonCircus

Emma of Stitchrovia wowed me with her amazing cross-stitch sets. I’m a sucker for any craft kit, and  these are great value. Each jolly design is a “modern take on traditional cross stitch embroidery with a bit of British quirkiness thrown in”. Unfortunately I was there to make money not spend!

StitchroviaI was really excited to meet an organiser of Camden Lock Market at the beginning, who took a special interest in my display, so I will hopefully have a stall in Camden in the next few weeks too!

2 comments

  1. […] but I’ve decided just to link you to their far more exciting posts instead so click here and here, their accounts are far less biased then mine in terms of photos! Dandy Lion takes place on the 1st […]

  2. What a wonderful blog and review. Thank you very much for your eloquent words, sharing the news of the Dandy Lion Market and spreading the love for your fellow traders. Good luck with your stall at Camden Lock, and if you decide you’d like to return to the Dandy, you’ll always be welcome!

Leave a Reply

