Denim Sunset

2013-07-28 14.39.51

I have been busy bleaching and dyeing to create these gorgeous shades of pink, blue, teal and grey, with galaxy patterns. It always involves quite a lot of trial and error, but I’m so pleased about how they turned out. I don’t follow the packet’s instructions, so it usually ends up too watery, like this pink below, and I have to keep adding more to it.

2013-07-28 14.34.27

I like leaving denim part submerged in the dye, then I get lighter and darker shades in one!

dyeing

When I bleach it beforehand, I either pour the bottle straight over it in big dollops, or quickly in fine lines, after I’ve laid it out on plastic bags and newspaper, or I use a spray bottle to create splatters. I then wash the denim to get rid of any bleach before I dye it. With shorts, I also use a paintbrush to paint on patterns using bleach, and then I paint the dye on as well. I get very impatient waiting for the bleach to show through, so I can see the pattern it’s created. I can tell if it’s good quality denim because it gets to work pretty quickly.

2013-07-28 14.37.40Ta da!

One comment

  1. All the patterns look great! I love denims because it’s so versatile and there are so many different designs you can create with it! Thanks for sharing your tips and the swatches! 🙂
    Do drop by my blog as well : http://littlebookoffashion.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

